## Rulers and Government of the Counties of Wittgenstein

Jochen Karl Mehldau/Karlsruhe

Source: Isenburg – Loringhoven – Schwennecke, Europäische Stammtafeln, Band IV, 1981

Counts(Grafs) of Sayn and Wittgenstein

	*	r	†
1. Salentin Graf zu Sayn (married Adelheid von Wittgenstein)		1357	1392
2. Johann IV., Son of 1.		1392	1436
3. Georg I., Son of 2.		1436	1472
4. Eberhard, Son of 3.		1472	1494
5. Wilhelm I., Son of 4.	1485	1494	1570
6. Ludwig I., Son of 5.	1532	1570	1605

Counts (Grafs) of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg

	*	r	†
7. Georg II., Son of 6.	1565	1605	1631
8. Ludwig Casimir, Son of 7.	1598	1631	1643
9. Georg Wilhelm, Son of 8.	1636	1643	1684
10. Ludwig Franz, Son of 9.	1660	1684	1694
11. Casimir, Son of 10.	1687	1694	1741
12. Ludwig Ferdinand, Son of 11.	1712	1741	1773
13. Christian Heinrich, Son of 12.	1753	1773	1800
Elevated to Prince (Fürst) zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg			
04.09.1792			
14. Albrecht, Prince, Son of 13.	1777	1800	1851

Counts (Grafs) of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Wittgenstein = Sayn-Wittgenstein-Hohenstein

	*	r	†
15. Ludwig II., Son of 6.	1571	1605	1634
16. Johannes, Son of 15.	1601	1634	1657
17. Ludwig Christian, Son of 16.	1629	1657	1683
18. Heinrich Albrecht, Son of Gustav, Nephew of 17.	1658	1683	1723
19. August, Brother of 18.	1664	1723	1735
20. Friedrich, Son of 19.	1708	1735	1756
21. Johann Ludwig, Son of 20.	1740	1756	1796
22. Friedrich Karl, Son of 21	1766	1796	1837
Elevated to Prince (Fürst) zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Hohenstein			
20.06.1801			

- \* Born
- r Beginning of rule
- † Died

15.09.1806	End of independence; absorbed into the Grand Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt under French rule.
	(Reichsdeputationshauptschluss 25.02.1803)
18.07.1816	Became subjects of the King of Prussia following decisions by the Congress of Vienna (09.06.1815); the district (Kreis) of Wittgenstein was now part of the province of Westphalia (Westfalen). Most emigrants to America left during this period so their nationality was Prussian.
23.08.1946	Formation of the new federal state of NorthRhine-Westphalia (Nordrhein-Westfalen) as part of the British zone of occupation. Wittgenstein was a district (Kreis) within the state
01.01.1975	Wittgenstein was absorbed into the district (Kreis) Siegen. (Sauerland-Paderborn-Gesetz 05.11.1974)
01.01.1984	The district was renamed Siegen-Wittgenstein. (Change in the Sauerland-Paderborn-Gesetzes 20.12.1983)

## Notes:

Some counts were very young, when they started their reign, officially. In these cases any relative ruled the county until the young man would be adult.

In 1605 the territory was divided between the brothers Georg II. and Ludwig II. In 1792/1801 the counts were given the title "prince" by the German Emperor.